top of page
Writer's picture¡Madre Mía!

Episode 006 - Lydia's Experiences in Costa Rica and Spain (2/2)

This is the second part of our conversation with Lydia in which we talk about the differences that she noticed between Costa Rica and Spain, including the food, the words, and the ways of life.



Veronica: How do you compare your experience in Costa Rica with that of Seville, with that of Spain?


Alessandra: Or what are the differences between the countries? Did you notice any difference in accents?


Lydia: Yes, of course yes. Well, I'm not going to try to imitate those accents because they don't come out, they don't come out, I can't. But I think what I noticed more than anything was the difference in the words they use, or that is used, because in-- for example in Spain, to say "cell phone," they say "móvil," móvil móvil. But in Costa Rica they say "cel" or "teléfono." That was a difference. Another is like, in Spain they say "cola" for "line," but in Costa Rica they say "fila." And other things, well, I am not going to explain the difference between the uses of the verb "coger," between Spain and Latin America because, well, this is a family show.


Alessandra: Yes, we already know.


Lydia: But yes, that is a difference, and also the food is completely different, and the way of life. So, well, how can I explain? It's like in Costa Rica they are the-- or are the calmest people in the world, like “no worries” at a different level than in Spain.


Alessandra: Pure life, no?


Lydia: Yes, pure life, exactly, that everything is pure life. It's like "how are you mae?" "Pure life!" And--


Alessandra: “Mae,” mae too, yes.


Lydia: Yes, they say "mae" instead of "man" or "dude" or "lad." And yes, I don't know, and they are, I don't know, very happy with their lives. And in Spain I noticed like - or I noticed more of a sense of-- and do not misunderstand me, but it is how they believe, do you understand me? It's how they think of themselves, I don't know how I can say it, but it's how they feel as if they are more proud, and that “we are like the parents of the Spanish language and we speak Spanish and” I don't know that, that “we have a way of life better than in Latin America and we have more money, ”anything. Yeah but it's very-- it's not very obvious, it's kind of more discreet.


Alessandra: Yes.


Lydia: I don’t know how to say it.


Alessandra: Subtle, Oma says.


Lydia: Ok, and what else between the two-- the two countries? Well, in Spain it's-- ok obviously it's a European country, so I don't know, in my opinion it seemed like the city, from the architecture, everything, was more of-- how to put it, like the first world, “first world?"


Alessandra: Yes, or that it’s very-- more modern?


Lydia: Yes, more modern, more commercial and all that. But in Costa Rica people live more humble lives and don't need so many things, and they have a greater connection with nature.


Alessandra: Ah yes, I understand. Yes, Costa Rica is very-- how do you say it, sustainable? “Sustainable?” or--


Lydia: Sustainable?


Alessandra: Yes! Yes yes yes.


Lydia: Yes, in many places, and many people have their own plants or gardens at home, or well, outside their homes, and there are many organic farms in Costa Rica. And yes, I don't know, that's why I think they appreciate nature or the earth more.


Alessandra: Yes, we have to learn from them.


Evelyn: Well, what are your goals with the language, what do you plan to do? How are you going to use your language?


Lydia: Yes, of Spanish?


Evelyn: Yes.


Lydia: Well Spanish, I don't know, it's a bit of a long story, it's a bit complicated, but Spanish fascinates me and I feel like I'm a different person when I speak it. And, but in a good way, how it brings out a different part of my personality. And I also think that I can explain myself in a better or deeper way when I speak Spanish, or with Spanish. And my goals with my learning, well, I have been learning Spanish for the last three years and I don't think it will stop at any time, I don't know. And well, more than anything I want to get to a moment where I don't have to translate in my mind because I still have to think about what I want to say in English, translate it, and then say it. But I want to be able to just speak what I am feeling, what I am thinking. And also my other goal with Spanish is to be able to go to work in a Spanish-speaking, or Spanish-speaking country.


Alessandra: Me too! Where?


Lydia: Well, good question, it’s that--


Veronica: You have to travel more!


Lydia: Yes, exactly because I have not traveled enough to know exactly but I really want to go to Mexico. Because I live so close but I have never, never got to know it and I want to go and have a good time in Mexico. And also because of my career, or because I am a hotel employee, it will give me many opportunities to go, or maybe, let's see, I have to become fluent with my Spanish to be able to work in a Spanish-speaking country, but that's the goal.


Alessandra: Your Spanish already--


Veronica: It’s perfect!


Lydia: No!


Veronica: You speak it--


Lydia: Thank you so much.


Alessandra: You could be a-- a native.


Veronica: Yes.


Lydia: No, I still need a lot of practice, but, and there are many words that I don't know yet.


Veronica: But you speak it very well.


Lydia: Thank you.


Veronica: It looks like no, you don't have to think about it, I mean, you speak it very naturally.


Lydia: Thank you, thank you so much.


Alessandra: I have the problem too, that I have to think before speaking. But that's why I'm doing this podcast, for me to practice.


Lydia: Yes and I think it is great, I mean seriously, super impressive. No, I couldn't do that, or I can't do that.


Evelyn: Yes, you can do it.


Alessandra: Yes!


Evelyn: Very well.


Alessandra: Okay, I have the favorite topics section. So what is your favorite country that you have traveled to?


Lydia: Ok I saw, when I saw that question, I thought like, “how am I going to answer it?” because it's so difficult because I like, like different places for different, very different and specific reasons to my experiences in those-- those places. But if I have to choose one I think I would say Germany. Because, well, I've visited Germany like three times now, and I don't know, it's like I appreciate the way they live their lives, the Germans, and also their perspectives on the world. And also their cities, they are very clean, very orderly, they don't have many homeless people and they have many-- many social programs. And also almost all the people know English and other languages too, they are super smart, and very-- I don't know how to say it but they are very "matter of fact," like that's how it is.


Alessandra: Straightforward.


Lydia: Yes, straightforward.


Alessandra: Direct, direct!


Veronica: Direct.


Lydia: Direct! Yes, they are very direct, exactly. And I don't know, that interests me a lot. And also the experiences I have had in Germany were like the best of my life.


Alessandra: I have never been to Germany.


Lydia: No? Didn't you go while living in Costa Rica-- or in Seville?


Alessandra: No, I went to or I went to Austria and what else?


Veronica: Holland.


Alessandra: Holland, close to--


Evelyn: Prague was it?


Alessandra: Prague, Prague too.


Lydia: Ok.


Alessandra: And Budapest.


Lydia: Ok.


Alessandra: Those, but no.


Lydia: Ah you have to go, you have to go-- Berlín.


Alessandra: One day.


Lydia: Berlin, super cool.


Alessandra: What is your favorite Sevillian food?


Lydia: Ah well, I think it's salmorejo because I like-- I like, like the potato omelette, obviously, it's super traditional, but I like salmorejo. And for those who don't know, salmorejo is like a type of gazpacho but it has more garlic, I think, it has more garlic than other types of gazpacho, it is like a cold soup and it is super fresh, I don't know, I love it. And obviously I loved everything my Spanish mother made for me too, she is a good chef.


Veronica: And your favorite food from Costa Rica?


Lydia: From Costa Rica? Oh good question. Well, ok, they have this fruit, and it surely exists in other countries, but it is guayabana.


Veronica: Ah yes.


Lydia: Too sweet, too delicious. I love it, I love it. But I also like gallo pinto, which is a very traditional Costa Rican dish. And it's literally a mixture of rice and beans and that's gallo pinto.


Veronica: Sounds good.


Alessandra: Sounds good.


Lydia: Super good, it’s good.


Alessandra: And I haven’t tried el salmorejo either because, because I don’t like, or yes, cold soup, it’s doesn’t--


Veronica: The idea.


Lydia: Yes, does it seem weird? It seems weird to you.


Veronica: It shouldn't be soup, it should be a drink.


Alessandra: Yes.


Lydia: Yes! Yes, you have to think about it-- as if it were a drink.


Veronica: It should be _ spoon. Drinking it with a spoon.


Alessandra: Okay first, did you go to Carnival in Cádiz?


Lydia: Yes.


Alessandra: Yes, okay okay. Well, my question is: which do you prefer, The Fair of Sevilla or Carnival in Cádiz?


Lydia: Ok, in this question I have not a drop of doubt: The Fair. Obviously, the Fair is pure magic, I have to tell you, it's incredible, especially for some girl who, I don't know, who has studied flamenco for seven years, like me, and I went to live in Seville just because the first dance I learned as a student of flamenco was sevillanas. The sevillanas, the-- which is like the dance that all people know, and they dance this dance every night-- all night, during like, like every day of the Fair week.


Alessandra: It was five days, right?


Lydia: Five days? Not seven? I thought it was like a whole week but--


Alessandra: Okay.


Lydia: Maybe it's five days, I don't remember.


Alessandra: You’re probably right.


Lydia: Every day they are dancing sevillanas and--


Alessandra: I don’t remember.


Lydia: Yes, but it was amazing, like a dream.


Alessandra: Yes, yes for--


Lydia: And the fashion too, and like the flamenco dresses.


Alessandra: I love them.


Lydia: Me too.


Alessandra: And your Spanish mom gave you a-- a dress?


Lydia: No.


Alessandra: Or dress.


Lydia: I bought a dress at "Humana," do you remember "Humana?"


Alessandra: Yes yes yes.


Lydia: I think "Humana," yes. It's like a "thrift store."


Alessandra: Yes yes yes.


Lydia: Like second-hand clothing.


Alessandra: Yes, I remember. Well that's it. Thank you so much!


Lydia: Thanks to you, it really has been a great pleasure.


Evelyn: Lydia, it was lovely listening to you.


Veronica: Yes.


Evelyn: What experiences, what phenomenal adventures you have had. I congratulate you very much, that you continue doing the same for the rest of your life.


Lydia: Thank you.


Veronica: Yes, good luck with your career and that you continue with the Spanish that you already speak perfectly.


Lydia: Thank you.


Alessandra: Lydia sent me a message on Instagram that she wanted to do this, and I was very happy, very happy.


Lydia: Yes and I thought like, “she's going to think I'm psycho,” and all that, but.


Alessandra: Yes, yes, I believe that.


Lydia: I'm so glad you invited me, and it's been a pleasure, and you guys are amazing, and yes.


Veronica: Ay thank you.


Alessandra: Okay.


Evelyn: We really enjoyed listening to you Lydia, thank you.


Veronica: Yes, thank you.


Lydia: Thank you guys.


Evelyn: Someday we will meet again.


Lydia: Yes, let’s hope, let’s hope.


Veronica: Yes.


Lydia: Ok well then, have a nice afternoon, and that’s all.


Veronica: Same to you, same to you.


Evelyn: Same to you.


Alessandra: Well thanks for listening, our listeners. And until next time!


Verónica: Bye!


Lydia: Bye!

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page