top of page
Writer's picture¡Madre Mía!

Episode 002 - Music

Alessandra, Veronica, and Evelyn talk about music, including the genres of Colombia, their favorite artists, and their opinions of the music of today.



Alessandra: Hello friends! Welcome to another episode of Madre Mía! I am Alessandra.


Veronica: Hi, I’m Veronica.


Evelyn: And my name is Evelyn.


Alessandra: Let's start with our topic for today: music. First, what kind of music do you listen to?


Veronica: I like to listen to different types of music. I obviously like Carlos Vives, Shakira, Juanes, Fonseca, who are Colombian. But I also like to listen to large orchestras from the sixties, seventies, which bring back memories of when I was a child, like Nelson Henríquez, Nelson y Sus Estrellas. But I also like listening to Elton John, Billy Joel, Rod Stewart, and I love Michael Bublé, who sings romantic songs.


Alessandra: Nice, Oma?


Evelyn: I am like your mom. I like all kinds of music. I love great Italian operas, I like jazz, blues. I love the songs, for example, by John Lennon, I love the old music from yesteryear of my time, and from yesteryear of the time of my parents, for example, boleros by Agustín Lara, things like that.

Alessandra: I like Latin music, like reggaetón, but of course I like some songs from the United States. But for me, I listen to Latin music because it is an important way that helps me learn Spanish. Because it is easier to memorize. Sometimes when I hear a word or phrase, I associate it with the lyrics of a song. And then, what are your favorite singers or groups?


Veronica: Well, the ones I already mentioned, and I also like Queen, I like ABBA, also Sebastián Yatra. And the truth is that many artists, even if they are - even if some only have a song that fascinates me, but the author may not be so famous.

Alessandra: Yes, me too, I love those. Oma?


Oma: For example, I love John Lennon's music.


Alessandra: The Beatles?


Oma: Not The Beatles, but John Lennon. I love many other artists, there are so many. I love the great tenors and sopranos that exist today, they are so many, and so talented. And well, it depends on the type of music, but I love many.


Alessandra: Well, I also like a lot of artists, but my favorites today are reggaetón players, like J Balvin, Bad Bunny, and many others, but they are ---


Veronica: The most…


Alessandra: The most popular, of course. Third question: what are the typical musical genres of Colombia?


Veronica: Well, there is cumbia, vallenato


Alessandra: But, but, what is la cumbia?


Veronica: It is a typical Colombian dance, I don't know how to explain it.


Alessandra: It’s a genre and a dance.


Veronica: Yes, it is a genre and a dance.


Alessandra: Oma, do you know more about la cumbia?


Evelyn: Well, I know cumbia as a dance, more than a type of music, a genre of music. It's a typical dance--


Alessandra: It has three steps, right?


Evelyn: I think yes, yes, yes yes yes, very beautiful, it is danced with a candle, and it is a flirting dance between women and men. The man flirts with the woman and she passes a candle while they dance and with her big skirt--


Veronica: La pollera (skirt).


Evelyn: La pollera (skirt). The skirt goes by as she dances. It goes up and so on, and then what else? What is your other question?


Alessandra: No, there are many more - champeta. It comes from Africa, right? Is it true?


Veronica: I couldn't answer that because I'm not sure.


Alessandra: I think so, I think that, well, the diversity in the musical expressions found in Colombia can be seen as the result of a mixture of indigenous, African and European influences (especially Spanish), as well as more modern Americans.


Evelyn: Right, right. Many of the typical dances, yes, originated, or came from Africa, certain sounds, the drum and--


Alessandra: El Mapalé.


Evelyn: El Mapalé. Very Africa. Very very African.


Alessandra: And you said el vallenato, right?


Veronica: El vallenato, yes.


Alessandra: Like Carlos Vives.


Veronica: Well Carlos Vives, he sings like a modern vallenato. I mean he started--


Alessandra: What does that mean? What is the difference?


Veronica: He is not a modern vallenato, but he has made old songs, the -- as modernized, like La Piragua which is an old song, I don't remember - I don't know what year it would be, but he sang it again a little more modern.


Alessandra: Who are the ancient or original vallenatos?


Veronica: O Escalona, I'm not sure but Escalona, there is I don't know, I don't remember--


Alessandra: Oma, I think Oma knows more.


Evelyn: Your mom has a better memory than I do, but yes, definitely Escalona. Those typical vallenatos that you are mentioning were from my time but yes, many singers have modernized them.


Veronica: Like Carlos Vives, he even made a series in which he represented Escalona.


Alessandra: Ahh.


Veronica: Yes. And he has sung many of Escalona's songs.


Alessandra: Who else today, like Carlos Vives, is there?


Veronica: Fonseca?


Alessandra: Fonseca, Fonseca, that’s it, that’s it, that’s it.


Veronica: I love Fonseca too. Fonseca, I love all the songs on Fonseca.


Alessandra: Yes, yes. Well, there are more like bambuco, llanero, horopo --


Veronica: Joropo.


Alessandra: Joropo, excuse me. But yes, there are many. Continuing, what are the best concerts you've ever been to? Oma, first?


Evelyn: I have not been to many concerts. I'm an older person, I don't go to concerts, I don't like those -- those huge crowds.


Alessandra: But when you were a child, no?


Evelyn: No, there weren’t any, when I was a child there were no concerts. Those things are from this modern era, but...


Alessandra: Ah okay.


Veronica: You have never seen Julio Iglesias in concert, have you?


Alessandra: No, she says no. It's okay. Mom?


Veronica: Well, Carlos Vives, Juanes, I saw Juanes.


Alessandra: Yes, you are my dad went--


Veronica: We went.


Alessandra: Yes, you went without me. Sin mi or sin yo?


Veronica: No, to Carlos Vives?


Alessandra: No, Juanes.


Veronica: Ah, Juanes and Juan Luis Guerra. It was a concert with them two.


Alessandra: Ah, yes, yes. I was very jealous.


Veronica: Ah yes.


Alessandra: And I did go to Carlos Vives in Manhattan and it was amazing and we were able to go near the stage.


Veronica: Yes, from the stage.


Alessandra: From the stage, yes. I love Carlos Vives.


Veronica: It was really good, that concert.


Alessandra: And also in Seville, I went to the Sebastián Yatra concert, I love Yatra. And it was in a smaller place, so in that concert we were very close to him and the stage too. And at one point, he tossed his shirt into the crowd--


Veronica: Yes, he threw it out to the public.


Alessandra: Yes Yes! But at that time I wasn't looking, was I looking back, detrás or atrás?


Veronica: Yes, atrás (back)?


Evelyn: You were looking back.


Alessandra: Backwards, so I couldn't catch it, but the person who was like that behind me?


Veronica: Behind me.


Alessandra: Behind me, caught it.


Veronica: She caught it, ah.


Evelyn: What a shame!


Alessandra: Yes, and was it a shirt I could wear-- put on?


Veronica: Could use.


Alessandra: Use, yes.


Evelyn: But would you have washed it?


Alessandra: Ooh.


Verónica: No, no.


Alessandra: Yes, he was very sudadoso?


Veronica: Sudoroso (sweaty) or sudado (sweaty)?


Evelyn: He was all sweaty.


Alessandra: Yes, yes.


Veronica: Yes, and we have tickets to go see him and Ricky Martin--


Alessandra: And Enrique Iglesias.


Veronica: Enrique Iglesias in October, but we don't think it’s going to--

Alessandra: I think they have changed the date for next year.


Veronica: Next year.


Alessandra: I think so, I’m not sure.


Veronica: Yes, I want to see them together.


Alessandra: Yes, yes. Where and when do you usually listen to music? Well, for me, I listen to music in my car or on the way to work or classes, but nowadays we cannot do that, so, at home or in the car.


Veronica: Yes, I do in the car or when I do chores around the house, sometimes I play music, yes.


Alessandra: Yes, Oma?


Evelyn: When I ride in my car and occasionally at home when I'm not working, I like to listen to jazz, I love jazz, but classical jazz.


Alessandra: Yes, and also when I walk, I like to walk, and sometimes I listen to music or podcasts. Yes. Do you think music can affect your mood?


Veronica: Yes I think so. Because it is a-- when I play dance music and lively music like that, they make me want to do things more. That is, it puts one in better spirits.


Alessandra: Mm hm. Oma?


Evelyn: I like music when I'm calm, I'm resting, and sometimes there is-- I play music that makes me sad, but it is sad and at the same time happy, because it reminds me of my parents, my childhood. I love that, I love the music that brings back memories. I really like that.


Alessandra: Yes me too. And I also like to listen to music before I go anywhere, to a party or when I was younger, or an adolescent, before school, before I left, I liked to listen to music to wake up a little bit, and put myself in a -- yes, a state of mind, well--


Veronica: Positive.


Alessandra: Positive, positive, yes. And I think Oma-- Oma likes this question, but what do you think of the music that teens listen to today? Or how has music changed over the years?

Evelyn: Frankly, in all sincerity, I don't like it.


Alessandra: Why?


Evelyn: I don't like it, it doesn't seem romantic to me like music used to be. It is not-- it has no lyricism that the music of before had.


Alessandra: But which--


Evelyn: I don’t understand, I don’t understand it--


Alessandra: No, I understand your point of-- your point of view, like in TikToks. Excuse me Excuse me, smaller/younger listeners, but sometimes yes, the lyrics don't have very strong meanings, would you say?


Evelyn: Yes, there is a lot... I think, for example, well, in that rap music, the vulgarities are terrible. I don't like music with such vulgarity. I like the music-- yes there is very nice music, for example, if you think of Mexican corridos, they were-- they are songs about events, they are like stories. That music is very beautiful, I really like it.


Alessandra: Mm, yes, I understand. I don't like to make generalizations. Mom, do you have another opinion on popular music?


Veronica: Depends on which popular music--


Alessandra: Yes.


Veronica: I mean, I don't like rap. There is some reggaetón that I do like, others I don't like, it depends on--


Alessandra: Yes, I know with reggaetón--


Veronica: I like the rhythm, what I like in the songs.


Alessandra: Yes, that’s what I like.


Veronica: The lyrics-- I don't pay attention to the lyrics.


Alessandra: I know, I know, yes.


Veronica: It's the-- the beat of the song that makes you dance.


Alessandra: Yes, that, that. The rhythm and yes, the spirit.


Veronica: Yes.


Alessandra: Yes. And do you play any instrument?


Veronica: Not me, I never learned.


Alessandra: Never?


Veronica: I always wanted to learn the piano but I never learned any instrument. I don't have the artist gene, not art nor music.


Alessandra: Yes, you always say that genre has skipped you?


Veronica: Yes.


Alessandra: Would you say that?


Veronica: No no, genre no, but gene?


Alessandra: Gene, gene.


Veronica: The gene skipped me.


Alessandra: Yes, yes.


Veronica: Because I do not, I have nothing of an artist, not music nor painting.


Alessandra: But your brother, and who else?


Veronica: And my mom and I, well, many, many people in the-- in my family are artists, that is, painters, musicians--


Alessandra: But you have other talents!


Veronica: Well, not music or art.


Alessandra: Oma?


Evelyn: I would have loved to be a pianist, but I could never use two hands. I always had a problem with that. The same with Spanish dance, for example, when I was in Spain I tried to learn how to do the sevillanas, dance sevillanas. Either I danced or played castanets, but I couldn't do both at the same time.


Veronica: You couldn’t coordinate?


Evelyn: I couldn't coordinate the dance with the castanets. Same thing with piano, right hand, left hand, it must be something--


Alessandra: Mental.


Evelyn: --having to do with dyslexia or something, I don't know, from the right side of the brain to the left side of the brain.


Alessandra: No. But still--


Evelyn: I do not know. I always wanted to play an instrument.


Alessandra: Yeah, you're still a-- an artist with--


Veronica: Painting, of painting.


Alessandra: Yes, painting.


Evelyn: I like to paint, yes. I haven't done it for a long time, but when I retire, I will dedicate myself again.


Alessandra: Yes, I played the piano, but a long time ago. What always is most difficult for me is playing the song with the rhythm it should be, the song. Do you understand?


Veronica: Yes, yes.


Alessandra: Yes, I’m slow.


Evelyn: But you know that we do have a good pianist in the family.


Alessandra: Yes.


Evelyn: Your cousin, Antonio, plays divinely.


Alessandra: Yes.


Evelyn: He’s phenomenal.


Alessandra: He’s a genius.


Evelyn: Genius, yes, he learned in two years, he learned and has played some beautiful pieces.


Alessandra: Yes, and he doesn’t have to look at any music paper.


Evelyn: He doesn’t have to see the scripts, the--


Veronica: Yes, and he also plays the drums really well.


Alessandra: Yes.


Veronica: Incredible.


Evelyn: The saxophone too.


Alessandra: Yes.


Veronica: And you also played the-- the trumpet…


Alessandra: Oh yeah, I already forgot.


Veronica: And the guitar a little, right?


Alessandra: Oh no, but no, I wasn't very good.


Veronica: No but, you also like to sing.


Alessandra: Oh yes, I love to sing. That is what I like the most.


Evelyn: You know what-- what's my dream?


Alessandra: I know your dream! That I sing Ave María?


Evelyn: Yes.


Veronica: That you sing Ave Maria.


Evelyn: One day, I would love to hear you sing Ave María.


Veronica: You have to put it on this podcast!


Alessandra: Oof--


Veronica: When you learn it.


Alessandra: Ooh, I don’t know, I don’t know.


Evelyn: In Latin, in Latin.


Alessandra: We’ll see, someday, I don't know. If you were to do karaoke, what would be your favorite song to sing? Oma?


Evelyn: Bueno, este… Tequila!


Alessandra: Which? How does that song go?


Evelyn: Tequila!


Alessandra: (*Humming*)


Veronica: That?


Evelyn: Tequila!


Alessandra: Why? Because you only have to sing or say just one--


Evelyn: A single word, very easy!


Alessandra: How smart you are.


Veronica: Yes.


Evelyn: Of course!


Veronica: I don't know, I don't really know. It would be… let's say La Piragua. The canoe of Guillermo Cubillos!


Alessandra: For me, it would be Bennie and the Jets by Elton John.


Veronica: Ah yes, that one is good. Yes, any by Elton John would be good.


Alessandra: Yes yes yes. And you went to the Elton John concert, me too, but somewhere else.


Veronica: Yes, right, about a year or two years ago, part of his retirement, the retirement tour.


Alessandra: Yes. If you could listen to just one song for the rest of your life, what would it be?


Evelyn: Imagine by John Lennon.


Alessandra: Aw, how cute.


Veronica: That’s good, that’s good.


Alessandra: Yes.


Veronica: I don't know, I don't know, I don't know.


Alessandra: It’s very difficult.


Veronica: Yes, because there are so many songs that I like, but I don’t know if I could choose one.


Alessandra: Choose an artist.


Veronica: Carlos Vives.


Alessandra: Me too.


Veronica: Or Sebastian Yatra.


Alessandra: Me too.


Veronica: Well, modern ones, no? There are others, well there are others ...


Alessandra: Yes, but it’s just that they are very good.


Veronica: Yes.


Alessandra: Yes, I would say Nací (I was born) ... no, excuse me ... Volví a Nacer (I was re-born) by Carlos Vives, or Ella es Mi Fiesta (she is my party).


Veronica: That is also good, yes.


Alessandra: Yes. Now we come to the favorite themes part. The first: what is your favorite favorite series?


Veronica: My favorite series--


Alessandra: Today, now.


Veronica: From today? From now? It would be Money Heist, but, I mean, well yes. Especially the first season.


Alessandra: Mm, yes. Oma?


Evelyn: I loved House of Cards, but that is over. And I loved the other one I just finished watching called Bloodline.


Alessandra: Oh yeah. We are watching that too.


Evelyn: Very good, very good.


Alessandra: I'm watching Cable Girls, and I love Velvet too, and it's like that.


Veronica: Yes, I loved Velvet.


Alessandra: Yes.


Veronica: It was really good.


Alessandra: And favorite movie?


Veronica: Favorite movie is ... Nacho Libre with Jack Black.


Alessandra: Me too! But my friends laugh at me--


Veronica: They laugh at you? They mock?


Alessandra: Yes.


Veronica: Why? Because you like that?


Alessandra: Because it’s not a very serious movie.


Veronica: Serious.


Evelyn: Well, since I'm old-fashioned, I like ... the movie that has been my favorite of all, of all my life has been Lo Que el Viento Se Llevó, Gone With the Wind.


Alessandra: I think ... I don't know if I've seen it, I don't know.


Evelyn: You can see it.


Alessandra: The last one is: what is your favorite season?


Veronica: I like summer. I like the heat, and yes, well, that's why.


Evelyn: I love the spring.


Alessandra: That is my favorite too. Well, we have come to the end of the episode. Thanks for listening! I hope you enjoyed it. Thank you!


Veronica: Thank you!


Evelyn: Until next time!


Alessandra: See you!


Verónica: Bye!


Alessandra: Bye!

0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page